Skip to Content

Spring Lake Eco Adventures

Snorkeler at Spring Lake

Welcome to Spring Lake Eco Adventures, where education is the cornerstone of environmental stewardship!

Whether you join us for a kayak, paddle board, or snorkel tour, our immersive nature-based Eco Adventures are designed to leave you with a deep-rooted connection to the San Marcos River ecosystem. 

Floating on top of the crystal-clear waters of the Edwards Aquifer, our expert guides will introduce you to the history of Spring Lake, one of the oldest continuously inhabited sites in North America. Guests will learn about the unique flora and fauna of the region and the importance of protecting our waterways. With hands-on learning opportunities and breathtaking scenery, Spring Lake Eco Adventures will inspire and empower you to embrace your role as a steward of the great outdoors!

For more information, email springlaketours@txstate.edu or call the Education Office at 512.245.7540.

alert icon
Spring Lake is an environmentally sensitive area protected by local, state, and federal laws. Access is limited to approved activities, such as Meadows Center tours. Public swimming, fishing, and unauthorized watercraft are not permitted.

Courses Offered

Splash into Science Snorkel Tour

snorkelers in Spring Lake

The snorkel tour includes an introduction to the unique history and habitat of Spring Lake and an on-water tour of the San Marcos Springs, including Deep Hole, Cream of Wheat Springs, and the Ossified Forest. All related equipment will be provided. The on-water time for the tour is up to 50 minutes.

Cost: $45/person (*$5 discount for TXST and military)

  • 2024 Snorkel Tour Dates (8 people max @$45/ea)

      • Sunday, April 28 — 8:30-10:00 a.m.
      • Saturday, May 4 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Sunday, May 5 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Saturday, May 11 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Sunday, May 12 — 8:30-10:00 a.m.
      • Sunday, May 19 — 8:30-10:00 a.m.
      • Saturday, May 25 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Sunday, May 26 — 8:30-10:00 a.m.
      • Thursday, May 30 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Sunday, June 2 — 8:30-10:00 a.m.
      • Sunday, June 9 — 8:30-10:00 a.m.
      • Saturday, June 15 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Sunday, June 16 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Saturday, June 22 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Thursday, June 27 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Saturday, June 29 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Saturday, July 6 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Saturday, July 13 — 5:30-7:00 p.m. 
      • Thursday, July 18 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Saturday, July 20 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Thursday, July 25 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Sunday, July 28 — 8:30-10:00 a.m.
      • Saturday, August 3 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Thursday, August 8 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Sunday, August 11 — 8:30-10:00 a.m.
      • Saturday, August 17 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Saturday, August 24 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.

Guided Kayak Tour

kayaks aerial

This kayak tour includes an introduction to the unique history and habitat of Spring Lake and a guided paddling tour of Spring Lake. All related equipment will be provided. The on-water time for the tour is up to 1 hour.

Cost: $35/person (*$5 discount for TXST and military)

  • 2024 Kayak Tour Dates (8 people max @$35/ea)

      • Sunday, May 5 — 8:30-10:00 a.m.
      • Sunday, May 12 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Thursday, June 6 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Thursday, June 13 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Thursday, June 20 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Sunday, July 7 — 8:30-10:00 a.m.
      • Sunday, July 21 — 8:30-10:00 a.m.
      • Sunday, August 4 — 8:30-10:00 a.m.
      • Sunday, August 25 — 8:30-10:00 a.m.

Guided SUP Tour

kayaks aerial

The SUP tour includes an introduction to the unique history and habitat of Spring Lake and a guided paddling tour of Spring Lake. All related equipment will be provided. The on-water time for the tour is up to 1 hour.

Cost: $35/person (*$5 discount for TXST and military)

  • 2024 SUP Tour Dates (8 people max @$35/ea)

      • Sunday, April 28 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.

       

      • Saturday, May 18 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Sunday, May 19 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Saturday, June 1 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Sunday, June 16 — 8:30-10:00 a.m.
      • Sunday, June 23 — 8:30-10:00 a.m.
      • Sunday, June 30 — 8:30-10:00 a.m.
      • Thursday, July 11 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Sunday, July 14 — 8:30-10:00 a.m.
      • Thursday, August 1 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Saturday, August 10 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.
      • Sunday, August 18 — 8:30-10:00 a.m.
      • Saturday, August 31 — 5:30-7:00 p.m.

Guided Light-Up Kayak Tour

kayaks aerial

Our light-up kayak tour features a 100% clear kayak equipped with specialized underwater LED lights that offer an uninterrupted view of the wildlife and iconic San Marcos Springs below. All related equipment will be provided. The on-water time for the tour is up to 1 hour.

Cost: $45/person (*$5 discount for TXST and military)

  • We require five business days' notice if you would like to reschedule or cancel your tour for a refund. If for any reason we must cancel the tour (bad weather, etc.), you will be given an opportunity to reschedule for a new date or receive a full refund. Refunds will be applied to the credit card that was used for payment. If you cannot attend your tour due to an extenuating circumstance, each case will be evaluated by Meadows Center staff for an opportunity to reschedule your tour.

  • All participants should be in good mental and physical fitness to participate in the Spring Lake Eco Adventures Tours. A signed waiver is required for all participants stating that they will not hold Texas State University or the Meadows Center liable for any injury that may occur. 

    Snorkel Requirements: Snorkel tours are limited to swimmers aged 12 and up. Participants must be able to swim. Comfort around deep water and experience with snorkeling is required. Participants must arrive in a clean, washed swimsuit to prevent the spread of invasive species like Zebra Mussels.

    SUP/Kayak Requirements: Limited to paddlers aged 12 and up. Participants must be able to prove that they can paddle their own boat. Comfort around deep water and experience with kayaking is required. The weight limits are as follows:

    • Stand-up paddleboard: 285 pounds
    • Standard kayak (used during guided kayak tours): 300 pounds
    • Transparent kayak (used during nighttime light-up kayak tours): 250 pounds
  • All visitors are required to display a parking permit Monday at 8am through Friday at 5pm to park in the Meadows Center parking lot.  One day temporary permits are available for purchase at the kiosk in the parking lot for $3.  The kiosk takes credit cards only.

  • Frequently Asked Questions

For more information, email springlaketours@txstate.edu or call the Education Office at 512.245.7540.