Spring Lake Dive Authorization Course
The Spring Lake Management Plan requires that anyone diving in Spring Lake must first take the Spring Lake Dive Authorization course (DAC). This requirement is in place to ensure that all divers are proficient, familiar with our policy, and have a basic understanding of this unique environment.
Scuba diving in Spring Lake, for any reason, is complicated by the delicate nature of the environment. Declared a "Critical Habitat" in 1980, Spring Lake is home to eight federally listed species and is governed by the rules and regulations of the Endangered Species Act of 1973. In addition, Spring Lake is registered as an Archaeological site governed by the rules of the state of Texas Antiquities Law. Consequently, there is no recreational diving in Spring Lake.
- The course takes place over two days.
- Academics – Day One (At Home)
- The Spring Lake Dive Authorization Course is divided into four academic modules and assessment quizzes that are to be completed by each student prior to the beginning of class.
- The academic portion of the class is conducted via Zoom on the Wednesday prior to the diving portion. The class is approximately 2 hours long and begins at 6:30pm.
- Diving – Day Two (At Spring Lake)
- Students will meet at Spring Lake for a diving skills assessment, familiarization with the grounds and a tour of the springs, as well as a demonstration of common volunteer tasks to create and maintain viable habitat in the springs.
- The diving portion takes place on the dates listed below. This portion is approximately 4 hours long and begins at 1pm.
- All course materials and related information will be provided after registration.
- This course is PASS/FAIL. Students must score at least 70% on each of the assessment quizzes and demonstrate that they are competent divers (good buoyancy control and situational awareness) to successfully complete the course and earn a Spring Lake Diving rating.
- Show proof of a Full Open Water SCUBA Certification through a major Dive Training Agency (at this time, Junior Open Water and Junior Advanced Certifications are not being accepted);
- Show proof of a minimum of 25 logged dives;
- Provide all your own equipment, including tanks and weights.
- Standard: $285
- 25% Discount for Dive Instructors and Veterans: $213
- 50% Discount for Current Texas State students, faculty, and staff: $142
If fees for the course are to be paid through an organization or department, please inform the Spring Lake Diving team when inquiring to register.
New course dates will be posted in late August.
Wednesday, October 25 FULLY BOOKED
Saturday, October 28FULLY BOOKED Sunday, October 29FULLY BOOKED
Wednesday, November 15 FULLY BOOKED
Saturday, November 18FULLY BOOKED Sunday, November 19FULLY BOOKED
Wednesday, November 29 FULLY BOOKED
Saturday, December 2FULLY BOOKED Sunday, December 3FULLY BOOKED
Wednesday, December 6 FULLY BOOKED
Saturday, December 9FULLY BOOKED Sunday, December 10FULLY BOOKED
If you meet the requirements to take the course, please email the Spring Lake Diving team with the date you would like to attend at firstname.lastname@example.org.
If you would like to speak with a Spring Lake Diving staff member, our office hours are Monday – Friday, 9:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and we can be reached at 512.245.7541.